University of Illinois Extension - Character Education Sites on the World Wide Web

Selected Character Education Programs

University of Illinois Urban Program Resource Network: Character Education (http://www.urbanext.uiuc.edu/SchoolsOnline/charactered.html) Strategies, resources and classroom activities that will challenge students' minds, empower their senses of well-being, and rekindle their hearts with a commitment to values and beliefs essential to becoming and being whole individuals.

Character Counts (www.charactercounts.org) Curriculum teaching the Six Pillars of Character: trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring and citizenship.

Character Education Partnership (www.character.org) - A nonpartisan coalition of organizations and individuals dedicated to developing moral character and civic virtues in our nations youth as one means of creating a more compassionate and responsible society.

CHARACTERplus (http://info.csd.org) - A division of cooperating School districts, St. Louis, MO; weaves character education throughout the school day, integrating it into discipline policies, afterschool activities and reform initiatives.

Developmental Studies Center (www.devstu.org) - A very comprehensive prevention program focused on creation of a "caring community of learners." There is a focus on relationships and class meetings, and extension to community and after-school programs.

Ethics Resource Center (www.ethics.org) - Aims to serve as a catalyst for the integration of character education initiatives in organizations and institutions that serve our youth.

Giraffe Project (www.giraffe.org) - Encourages kids to stick their necks out for the common good by telling stories of real-life heroes in the media, in schools, and on podiums.

Global Classroom (www.globalclassroom.com) - A mail order company that specializes in quality educational and character education products.

Heartwood Institute (www.heartwoodethics.org) - Heartwood curriculums use multicultural literature to help children understand seven universal attributes: courage, loyalty, justice. respect, hope, honesty and love.

Institute for Global Ethics (www.globalethics.org) - Seeks to promote public discourse and practical action around significant ethical issues. Interesting ethical dilemmas.

Laws of Life Essay Contest (www.lawsoflife.org) - The John Templeton foundation encourages young people to write about their own laws of life.

Living Values (www.livingvalues.net) - Provides guiding principles and tools for the development of the whole person, recognizing that the individual is comprised of physical, intellectual, emotional, and spiritual dimensions. Parents and children will find activities that support values learning and living.

Project Wisdom (www.projectwisdom.com) Helping students make wiser choices.

Wise Skills Resources (www.wiseskills.com) - Highlights the lives of positive role models as a basis for addressing character, community, and conflict resolution.