## **Illinois Extension** UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS URBANA-CHAMPAIGN

## Local teens earn special state 4-H awards

To be selected for a state 4-H scholarship is guite an honor, as the competition is steep. University of Illinois Extension, Fulton-Mason-Peoria-Tazewell Unit is proud to announce that four local 4-H members were selected to receive \$1,000 career achievement scholarships as well as one 4-H Sustaining the Future Award.

## Local career achievement scholarship winners include:

- Hannah Johnson, Fulton County, category Personal Growth
- Emma Salverson, Peoria County, category Healthy Living & Nutrition
- Jorgi Dupureur, Tazewell County, category Creative & Performing **Arts & Communications**
- Lauren Haas, Tazewell County, category STEM & Robotics

## 4-H Sustaining the Future Award winner:

Ashleigh Janssen, Tazewell County

The Illinois 4-H Foundation provided forty-five \$1,000 scholarships to young adults across the state. The scholarships were awarded to five Illinois 4-H members in each of the nine focus categories and were based on merit and a demonstrated standard of 4-H excellence.

"These youth exhibit excellence and mastery in these interest areas," says Lisa Diaz, University of Illinois Extension assistant dean and 4-H director. "These awards celebrate the hard work, dedication, growth, and leadership these youth have exhibited."

Scholarship applicants wrote essays that showcase how their time in 4-H has impacted them. The local winners pointed out important points from their 4-H experience such as growing in leadership and communication skills, providing new friends, trying new things, and being exposed to areas for college majors and future careers.

The 4-H Sustaining the Future Award winner, Ashleigh Janssen, received her honor by exemplifying outstanding leadership within the agriculture industry and demonstrating a desire to remain engaged. This award was sponsored by Illinois Farm Bureau and Affiliates Youth Education in Agriculture Committee. Ashleigh has been invited to attend the Premier 20 Leadership Conference in April, as part of her recognition.

These five exceptional young ladies have a combined 42 years of 4-H experience. They have been active members and served in various leadership roles within their clubs, as well as at county, unit, and statewide events. Along with their impressive 4-H careers, all five have remained active in other organizations. Congratulations to Hannah, Emma, Jorgi, Lauren, and Ashleigh for continuing "to make the best better."



Hannah Johnson **Fulton County** Personal Growth



Emma Salverson Peoria County Healthy Living & Nutrition



Jorgi Dupureur Tazewell County Creative & Performing Arts & **Communications** 



Lauren Haas Tazewell County STEM & Robotics



Ashleigh Janssen Tazewell County 4-H Sustaining the **Future Award** 

**Katharine Girone Tazewell County** 4-H Program Coordinator girone1@illinois.edu