

Release Date: November 9, 2023

Source: Kate Harding, Macoupin County 4-H Coordinator

harding@illinois.edu

217-854-9604

Macoupin County 4-H Recognizes Outstanding Members and Volunteers

4-H Achievement Night was held on Friday, November 3 at Elks Lodge in Carlinville. 4-H members, their families, and special guests joined together to celebrate 4-H and recognize members, volunteers, and supporters from the 2022-23 4-H year. Guests enjoyed a pork chop and chicken dinner prior to the awards banquet.

Individual 4-H Awards were awarded as follows:

Top Secretary Book: Reese Heyen (Gillespie), Gavin Jarden (Bunker Hill), Danielle Furness and Ashlyn Killam (Carlinville)

Top Historian: Grant Jarden (Bunker Hill) Zorah Austin (Virden) Gennie Emery and Callan Rowe (Carlinville) Michael Barber (Glenarm) and Nathan StClair (Brighton)

Top Treasurer's Book: Jaxson Strader (Plainview), Heidi Kahl (Bunker Hill), Abbie Landes (Palmyra), Hanley Stoecker (Gillespie), Charlee Dugger (Carlinville)

Top Reporter: Claire Jarden (Bunker Hill), Todd Brawley (Gillespie), Ellie Behme and Hallee Kaburick (Carlinville)

Rookie of the Year Awards were presented to the following youth for going above and beyond basic expectations of the 4-H program during their first or second year in 4-H: Martin Jones, Lillian Dickison, Louis Hampton, Chase Stoecker, Evan Niebrand, Hunter Haworth, Abbie Jarden, Katelyn Wiser, and Savanna Siglock

The Outstanding 4-H Member Award was presented to top 4-H members who have excelled in the 4-H program over their 4-H career. Members are selected based on participation in the local club, project enrollment, exhibits, participation in programs, leadership, community activities, support of 4-H, and 4-H honors. This year top honors Alex Behme (Carlinville) Caleb Cloninger (Plainview) and Josiah Schuette (Shipman).

Allie Helling of Bunker Hill was awarded the Outstanding 4-H Home and Family Sciences Award for her advanced project work.

Josiah Schuette was awarded the Outstanding Technology Member Award for his advanced project work in computer science and STEM related projects.

The Outstanding 4-H Agriculture Member was presented to Saralynn Joiner of Carlinville.

The Outstanding 4-H Creative Arts Member was presented to Logan Helling of Bunker Hill

The Carney Memorial Leadership Award was established in memory of Greg Carney. The Leadership award winners for 2023 were Luke Wolff and Saralynn Joiner.

The Adam Heyen Memorial Award was established in 2017 to honor the life of 4-H member Adam Heyen of the Shipman Clovers. This award was given to a 4-H member who values hard work and education. This award is based on financial need, 4-H accomplishments, and community involvement. The recipient of this award was Allie Helling, daughter of Chris and Christy Helling of Bunker Hill,

The Jack Alward Memorial Award was established in 2022 to honor the life of 4-H volunteer and supporter Jack Alward of Piasa. This award was given to a 4-H member who values hard work and education. This award is based on financial need, 4-H accomplishments, and community involvement. The recipient of the 2023 award was Caleb Cloninger, son of Jason and Rebekah Cloninger of Plainview.

The William McAllister Award was created to encourage 4-H members to pursue education beyond the high school level. Mr. McAllister passed away in 2017, so we honor his legacy through this award. Recipients are chosen for their academic achievements, community involvement, 4-H accomplishments, and financial need. The 2023 McAllister Scholarship was awarded to Luke Wolff, son of Charlie and Michelle Wolff of Shipman.

The Robinson Scholarship is given in honor of Paula Robinson. Paula was the County Director for 35 years in Macoupin County. When she retired in 2010 this scholarship was established. The recipient of this year's scholarship was Braylee Gilmore, daughter of Michael and Robin Gilmore of Carlinville.

Macoupin County 4-H Foundation Scholarships were awarded to Logan Helling, daughter of Chris and Christy Helling of Bunker Hill and Saralynn Joiner, daughter of Greg and Vicki Joiner of Carlinville.

The William Danforth Foundation presents the "I Dare You" Award to young people who are willing to strive for high honors in leadership and community service. This year the winner was Natalie Royer of Virden.

Each year the Macoupin County 4-H program honors an individual or group who have supported the 4-H program through time and effort. This year Bunker Hill American Legion Post 578 was selected for the 4-H Service Award.

Jane Lee Carney was awarded with the Macoupin County 4-H Hall of Fame Award.

The 4-H Alumni Award is presented to adults who were once 4-H members and who have returned their knowledge and skills in continuing contribution to their community. This award is based on citizenship, leadership, career accomplishments, and personal influence of a 4-H nominee's life. This year the 4-H Alumni award winner was Kim Barber, leader of the Northwestern Green Machines.

Members receiving membership awards for completion of the 4-H program were 9 year member: Tristan Rutan; 10 year members: Katelyn Barber, Casey Dugan, and Chloe Velasquez; and 11 year members: Allie Helling and Braylee Gilmore. Leaders are recognized in five year increments. Lisa and Eric Ogden were recognized for 5 years of service; and those recognized for 10 years of service to Macoupin County 4-H were John Dugan, Angela Pauline, and Vicki Joiner.

Several club awards were given during the program for their hard work from the 2022-23 year.

In addition to our County Achievement Night, many clubs will hold their very own local achievement recognitions to distribute various awards to members for their project work and club participation. 4-H members are to be congratulated for their efforts to enhance learning through 4-H project work and for helping make their community and world a better place through community service.

If you would like more information about the 4-H program, you can contact the University of Illinois Extension at 217-854-9604.