

Release Date: December 9, 2024

Source: Kate Harding, Macoupin County 4-H Coordinator

harding@illinois.edu

217-854-9604

Macoupin County 4-H Recognizes Outstanding Youth at Local Awards Night

4-H Achievement Night was held on Friday, November 8 at Elks Lodge in Carlinville. 4-H members, their families, and special guests joined together to celebrate 4-H and recognize members, volunteers, and supporters from the 2023-24 4-H year. Guests enjoyed a pork chop and chicken dinner prior to the awards banquet.

Individual 4-H Awards were awarded as follows:

Top Secretary: Paige Heyen (Gillespie), Claire Jarden (Bunker Hill), Ava Turner (Modesto), DeLana Robinson and Ashlyn Killam (Carlinville)

Top Historian: Abbigail Jarden (Bunker Hill), Olivia Hubrich, Charlee Dugger, and Savanna Siglock (Carlinville), Paisley Landes (Palmyra)

Top Treasurer: Jaxson Strader (Plainview), Malia Bowker (Medora), Maria Jarden (Bunker Hill), Baylee Landes (Palmyra), Ellie Behme and Tyler Boente (Carlinville)

Top Reporter: Gavin Jarden (Bunker Hill), Ben Schuette (Shipman), Michael Barber (Glenarm) and Anna Cloninger (Plainview)

Rookie of the Year Awards were presented to the following youth for going above and beyond basic expectations of the 4-H program during their first or second year in 4-H: Hannah Brawley and Mavis Miller (Gillespie), Madelyn Cloninger (Plainview), Rylee Jarden (Bunker Hill), Nolen Pate (Staunton), Katelynn Clagg and Aubree Cunningham (Shipman), and Eva Heller and Emelia Daggett (Carlinville)

The Outstanding 4-H Member Award was presented to top 4-H members who have excelled in the 4-H program over their 4-H career. Members are selected based on participation in the local club, project enrollment, exhibits, participation in programs, leadership, community activities, support of 4-H, and 4-H honors. This year top honors Anna Cloninger (Plainview) and Natalie Royer (Virden).

Payton Harding and Hallee Kaburick of Carlinville were awarded the Outstanding Healthy Living & Nutrition Member Award for their advanced project work.

Ethan Schuette of Shipman was awarded the Outstanding Technology Member Award for his advanced project work in computer science and STEM related projects.

The Outstanding 4-H Agriculture Member was presented to Carter Joiner of Carlinville.

The Outstanding 4-H Creative Arts Member was presented to Saralynn Joiner of Carlinville and Natalie Royer of Virden.

The Outstanding 4-H Career & Leadership member was presented to Mary Behme of Carlinville.

The Carney Memorial Leadership Award was established in memory of Greg Carney. The Leadership award winners for 2024 were Alex Behme of Carlinville and Caleb Cloninger of Plainview.

The Adam Heyen Memorial Scholarship was established in 2017 to honor the life of 4-H member Adam Heyen of the Shipman Clovers. This award was given to a 4-H member who values hard work and education. This award is based on financial need, 4-H accomplishments, and community involvement. The recipient of this award was Caleb Cloninger, son of Jason and Rebekah Cloninger of Plainview.

The Jack Alward Memorial Scholarship was established in 2022 to honor the life of 4-H volunteer and supporter Jack Alward of Piasa. This award was given to a 4-H member who values hard work and education. This award is based on financial need, 4-H accomplishments, and community involvement. The recipient of the 2024 award was Alex Behme, son of Greg and Stefanie Behme of Carlinville.

The William McAllister Award was created to encourage 4-H members to pursue education beyond the high school level. Mr. McAllister passed away in 2017, so we honor his legacy through this award. Recipients are chosen for their academic achievements, community involvement, 4-H accomplishments, and financial need. The 2024 McAllister Scholarship was awarded to Saralynn Joiner, daughter of Greg and Vicki Joiner of Carlinville.

The Robinson Scholarship is given in honor of Paula Robinson. Paula was the County Director for 35 years in Macoupin County. When she retired in 2010 this scholarship was established. The recipient of this year's scholarship was Luke Wolff, son of Charlie and Michelle Wolff of Shipman.

Macoupin County 4-H Home and Community Education (HCE) Scholarships were awarded to Alex Behme and Caleb Cloninger.

The William Danforth Foundation presents the "I Dare You" Award to young people who are willing to strive for high honors in leadership and community service. This year the winners were Anna Cloninger (Plainview), Savanna Siglock (Carlinville), Jonathan Royer (Virden), Reese Heyen (Gillespie), and Grant Jarden (Bunker Hill)..

Each year the Macoupin County 4-H program honors an individual or group who have supported the 4-H program through time and effort. This Alice Tebbe of Mt. Olive was selected for the 4-H Service Award.

Paula Robinson of Carlinville was awarded with the 2024 Macoupin County 4-H Hall of Fame Award.

The 4-H Alumni Award is presented to adults who were once 4-H members and who have returned their knowledge and skills in continuing contribution to their community. This award is based on citizenship, leadership, career accomplishments, and personal influence of a 4-H nominee's life. This year the 4-H Alumni award winner were Rebekah Cloninger of Plainview and Damon Stayton of Hettick.

Members receiving membership awards for the 4-H program were 9 year member: Josiah Schuette, Alexis Bowman, Natalie Royer, Baylee Landes, Caleb Cloninger, and Riley Rhodes; 10 year members: Tristan Rutan, Luke Wolff, Frank Titus, Saralynn Joiner, Logan Helling, Sam Wiese, and Alex Behme; and 11 year members: Kayla Quarton and Sara Wiese.

Several club awards were given during the program for their hard work from the 2023-24 year.

In addition to our County Achievement Night, many clubs will hold their very own local achievement recognitions to distribute various awards to members for their project work and club participation. 4-H members are to be congratulated for their efforts to enhance learning through 4-H project work and for helping make their community and world a better place through community service.

If you would like more information about the 4-H program, you can contact the University of Illinois Extension at 217-854-9604.