ILLINOIS Extension

COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURAL, CONSUMER & ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES

University of Illinois Extension Sangamon, Menard, and Logan Counties Extension Council & Board Meeting Minutes September 24, 2019 - 7:00 p.m. 980 N. Postville Dr., Lincoln, IL 62656

Present: Rachel Fishburn, Jennifer Fishburn, Jim Stuebring, David Mendenhall, Craig Hall, Terri Miller, Jennifer Taylor-Brown, Mary Brown, Janet Estell, Nancy Dixon, Dave Opperman, Ruthie Ruhl, and Bill Bree.

Absent: Jill Keeton, Brenda Buckles, Colleen Martin, Amareon Naudain, Gary Letterly, Chuck Ruben, Ed Whitcomb Jr., Brian Satorius, and Phil Sidles.

Call to Order - Meeting was called to order at 7:05 pm.

Previous Meeting Minutes – The previous Council meeting in June did not have a quorum so the Council approved minutes from the March meeting as well as the brief minutes from the June meeting. Motion to accept the minutes was made by David Mendenhall seconded by Craig Hall. Motion passed.

Introductions – All members and guest present introduced themselves.

Recognition of Retiring Council members – Miller acknowledged the council members whose terms came to an end with a certificate of recognition. Those members include: Jim Struebing, Brenda Buckles, Jill Keeton, Eli Klockenga, and youth members Mary Brown, Alex Bruno, and Daniel Kloppe.

New Council Members – Miller introduced the newly appointed council members which include: Nancy Dixon representing Menard County and her son Zach who will be serving as a youth member. Phil Sidles representing Sangamon County, Dave Opperman representing Logan County, Brian Satorius, representing Menard County, and Rachel Fishburn serving as a youth member from Sangamon County.

Election of Officers (Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary/Financial Reporter), and Extension Board Representatives - The following slate of officers was recommended to the council: Craig Hall as Chairman, Bill Bree as Vice Chairman, and Nancy Dixon as Secretary/Financial Reporter. Motion to accept slate of Officers was made by Mary Brown seconded by Ruthie Ruhl. The motion passed.

Newly appointed Council Chairman, Craig Hall, chaired the remainder of the meeting.

The following slate of Extension Board members was presented: Nancy Dixon, Janet Estell, Bill Bree, David Mendenhall, Craig Hall, Ed Whitcomb, Jr., and Charles Ruben. A motion to accept the slate of Extension Board members was made by David Mendenhall and seconded by Ruthie Ruhl. The motion passed.

Open Meetings Act Training Requirement – Miller passed out information about the open meetings act training requirement and showed an example of the certificate.

Financial/Levee Report – Miller reported that Extension had not yet received any of our 2019 county board match money from the State. The Unit just conducted the audits of our in and out and Federation banking accounts with no issues.

Miller informed the council that House Bill 2264 was signed into law by Governor Pritzker on Friday, August 16, 2019. This law makes the County Cooperative Extension Law reflect the more recent Illinois Administrative Code by changing the work "may" to "shall" when it comes to providing the state county board match to Extension. However, this does not guarantee Extension will be included in the budget or that funds will be released.

Miller reported that the levy amounts requested from each county board will remain the same this year as the previous year(s), however increases will have to be considered in the future due to inflation eroding purchasing power.

Miller ask the council to approve check signature authority for the current year. Those signors being - Logan Federation Account: Carissa Davis, Patricia Huffer, Amy Hyde, and Terri Miller. Logan In/Out Account: Carissa Davis, Patricia Huffer, Terri Miller, David Irwin. Sangamon 4-H Federation Account: Jennifer Fishburn, Carissa Davis, Sharon Lounsberry, and Terri Miller. Sangamon In/Out Account: Jennifer Fishburn, Carissa Davis, Kayla Swaar, and Terri Miller. Motion to authorize signature authority for checking accounts was made by David Mendenhall and seconded by Bill Bree. The motion passed.

Program Updates – Miller announced that Carissa Davis and she were now certified to teach and administer the "Colors" personality testing. For the cost of the per user licensed booklets, they can come to a group or business and help them access their personality colors, and those of their team mates, to help them better understand themselves and those they work and improve communication and understanding. She mentioned that if someone was interested in doing the Colors training, they could contact her for more information and to schedule.

Miller then reviewed Unit staff written reports and handed them out to the council, highlighting various activities and events. She then asked the youth Councilmembers to speak about the 4-H activities they participate in and their experiences with 4-H.

Miller then sought permission to close offices for the upcoming holiday break of December 24 – January 1, 2020 and also on December 13, 2019 for all staff meeting. And also December 23 since it falls on a Monday this year and there is a high number of staff requesting the day off. She explained that staff would have to use their own benefit time for this additional day off. Motion to accept office closure dates was made by Dave Mendenhall and seconded by Ruthie Ruhl. The motion passed.

Staffing Update – Miller announced that the Unit added the following new staff members:

Sarah Swaar, SNAP-Ed Community Worker for Logan and Menard Counties Amy Zepp, Sangamon County 4-H Program Coordinator Pam Schallhorn – CED (Community and Economic Development) Specialist Region 2

Reaching New Audiences and Meeting Community Need – Miller asked the Council to consider audiences that are underserved or that Extension is not currently reaching well and welcomed any input on how Extension could reach out to these communities for increased participation. Miller also requested that the Councilmembers please contact her if they see a critical community need that Extension could help address.

Future meeting dates, locations and times were set. They are:

January (Thursday, January 16) Appreciation Dinner Meeting (Menard County - location to be announced.) March (Thursday, March 26 – Springfield Extension Office) June (Thursday, June 25 – Logan Extension Office) September (Thursday, September 24 – Sangamon Extension Office)

Public Input – Chairman Hall asked for any public input and there was none.

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Ruthie Ruhl and seconded by Rachel Fishburn. The motion passed. The meeting was adjourned at 8:20 pm.