Skip to main content

Perry County youth place in 2024 general show and foods show

A group of 4-H youth hold up their ribbons from a cooking show.

PINCKNEYVILLE, Ill. – Local 4-H members have been busy and were eager to share their hard work and creativity at the annual general show during the Perry County Fair. The following week, they took to the kitchen baking or cooking tasty and beautifully decorated items to display at the food show held at the Pinckneyville Community Center. 

4-H members that receive state delegation will have the opportunity to display their projects at the Illinois State Fair in Springfield in August.  

Those selected for delegates for the state fair were:

  • Leah Bathon – Civic Engagement, Health, and Cooking 301
  • Mason Buschschulte – Plants and Soil
  • Francis  Calderon – Robotics
  • Isla Calderon – Video/Filmmaking
  • Margo Dudek – Visual Arts (Chalk/Carbon/Pigment)
  • Bryce Ehlers – Natural Resources
  • Brody Fisher – Welding 
  • Josie Fisher – Clothing and Textiles
  • Oliver Fuhrhop – Natural Resources
  • Charlotte Furlow – Creative Writing, Cooking 201, and Cooking 401
  • Corra Gillam – Visual Arts (Quilting), Cooking 101
  • Hailey Grab – Clothing and Textiles
  • Chase Heinemeyer – Creative Writing
  • Avery Kellerman – Cooking 201
  • Anna Kinney – Animal Science and Photography 
  • Nevaeh Kirchner – Cooking 101
  • Addison Leonard –Visual Arts (Clay) 
  • Allison Leonard – Food Decorating
  • Mya McIntyre – Communications, Horticulture, and Visual Arts (Quilting) 
  • Kaitlyn Rains – Cooking 101
  • Aubree Specogni – Photography 
  • Harrison Still – Entomology/Beekeeping, Horticulture 
  • Alyvia Suhr – Civic Engagement, Forestry
  • Kendall Suhr – Visual Arts (Nature) and Visual Arts (Chalk/Carbon/Pigment)
  • Zeke Tanner – Entomology/Beekeeping
  • Dayton Wesseln – Tractor

The youngest 4-H members, known as Cloverbuds, also received a green ribbon for participation in the fair. The 2024 Cloverbud participants for Perry County were: 

  • Avery Buschschulte
  • Harvey Choate
  • Abigail Epplin
  • Wyatt Froemlin
  • Johanna Fuhrhop
  • Silas Fuhrhop
  • Tucker Furlow
  • Addison Heisner
  • Jenny Jeremiah
  • Ivy Nevill
  • Jameson Rathert
  • Colby Richelman
  • Peyton Specogni
  • Robert Still
  • Brielle Suhr

Learn how to get involved in 4-H in your community by visiting

About Extension

Illinois Extension leads public outreach for University of Illinois by translating research into action plans that allow Illinois families, businesses, and community leaders to solve problems, make informed decisions, and adapt to changes and opportunities. Illinois Extension is part of the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences.