4-H members from across the state were recently selected as winners through the Illinois 4-H Awards program.  The Illinois State 4-H Award recognizes exemplary work in nine major areas, including Animal Science, Civic Engagement and Global Living, Creative and Performing Arts and Communications, Food Systems, Healthy Living & Nutrition, Leadership, Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences, Personal Growth, and STEM & Robotics.  

This year, three Logan County 4-H members were selected as Illinois Scholarship Award winners and were recently honored at the 4-H Celebration of Excellence Awards Program.  Caroline Ahrends of Lincoln was selected in the Civic Engagement and Global Living award area; Cavit Schempp of Atlanta was selected in the Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences award area; and Ruthie Ruhl of Mt. Pulaski was selected in the Personal Growth award area.

Also recognized at the 4-H Celebration of Excellence Awards Program was Amaeron Naudain of Sangamon County who is retiring as Chairperson of the State 4-H Youth Leadership Team after a four year term of service. 

“Our awardees embody the true spirit of 4-H, having made a difference not only in their communities, but also Illinois and the nation,” said Lisa Diaz, U of I Extension Assistant Dean and Director of Illinois 4-H. “As we look ahead to the future, we are proud of the dedication, service, and fortitude of the young men and women who have developed through our 4-H programs.”

All Illinois State 4-H awards are supported through donor gifts to the Illinois 4-H Foundation.

View the full Celebration of Excellence Awards Program booklet.