Illinois 4-H Foundation awards $45,000 in scholarships

The Illinois 4-H Foundation provided $25,000 in college scholarships and awarded another $20,000 in national conference travel scholarships this year.

“Our donors are generous and believe that higher education changes lives,” said Angie Barnard, Foundation executive director. Donors include Nann Armstrong, Patricia Clickener, Lila Jeanne Eichelberger, Keith and Lissa Parr, Donna Mueller, Dee Murray, George Obernagel, Legacy of Leadership endowment contributors, LA-CO, Barbara and George Clark, Barbara and George Clark, Ryan and Elaine Ruwe, Marvin and Elizabeth Schnitzler, Carrie Francis, Jason and Andrya Smith, Auxiliary to the Illinois State Veterinary Medicine Association and the Illinois 4-H Foundation. 

Illinois 4-H Foundation presents the Legacy of Leadership Scholarship to 4-H members who demonstrate and maintain a high standard of 4-H excellence and mastery during their membership tenure. Winners include: Erin Anderson, Iroquois County; Anne Becker, Morgan County; Erin Curley, McDonough County; Austin Dufelmeier, Morgan County; Emma Eathington, Fulton County; Rachel Fishburn, Sangamon County; Julian Heidrich, Kendall County; Logan Henerfauth, Monroe County; Erin Kistner, Montgomery County; Andrea Miller, Franklin County; Abigail Steffens, Logan County; Abigail Stichter, Whiteside County; Dalton Wachter, JoDaviess County; Katie White, Morgan County; Karlie Wilken, Iroquois County.

The foundation also awards scholarships to teens who concentrate efforts in animal science projects. The winner of the 4-H Livestock Scholarship is Logan Hendrix of Clark County. The 4-H Veterinary Science Award winner is Taylor Sondgeroth of McLean County.

“Our awardees embody the true spirit of 4-H, having made a difference not only in their communities, but also Illinois and the nation,” said Lisa Diaz, University of Illinois Extension assistant dean and director of Illinois 4-H. “We are proud of the dedication, service, and fortitude of the young men and women who have developed through our 4-H programs.”

State 4-H Award Winners

Twenty-four young adults were also recognized as winners in one of five divisions of the State 4-H Award. Each winner may choose either a $1,000 scholarship or a trip to National 4-H Congress in Atlanta.

The communication division winner is Mallory Ames of Champaign County. Honored in the area of community service are Rachel Fishburn of Sangamon County, Abigail Rozanas of Boone County and Carlson Rozanas of Boone County.

In the leadership division, winners are Austin Dufelmeier or Morgan County, Julian Heidrich of Kendall County, Delaney Smith of Champaign County and Katie White of Morgan County.

The seven winners in the personal growth division include Sarah Anderson of Macon County, Hannah Beran of Boone County, Erin Curley of McDonough County, Genevieve Ellingson of Boone County, Caleb Grover of Christian County, Anthony Joiner or Macoupin County and Cavit Schempp.

Project mastery winners include Katelyn Engel of Knox County, Ariana Hinkle of Logan County, Kendall Knodle of Montgomery County, Hannah Longlett of Adams County, Daniel Kloppe of Sangamon County, Michell Marck of Stephenson County, Lydia Oker of Kendall County, Camryn Parker of Hamilton County and Sara Timm of Marion County.

About our Knox and McDonough County Winners:


Katelyn Engel

State Awards: Project Mastery

Knox County | Delong Livestock 4-H Club, Federation, Livestock Judging SPIN Club, State Livestock Ambassador Team

As a member of the 4-H livestock judging team, Katelyn has explored the country, from the National Western Stock Show in Denver to the American Royal in Kansas City. She spreads a positive message about Illinois 4-H and agriculture as a 4-H livestock ambassador and mentors younger members of the judging team. “4-H means being a responsible leader.  It has given me many valuable skills to make me successful in the future.”

EDUCATION & CAREER: Katelyn plans to judge livestock while attending a junior college, then transfer to earn a 4-year degree in animal science or agricultural communications.


Erin Curley


Legacy of Leadership Scholarship

State Award: Personal Growth

McDonough County | 4-H Goal Diggers, Federation

Erin has participated in several service projects and is active in showing cattle. She has participated in pet food drives, cookie decorating for seniors, decorating for National 4-H Week, as well as holding Federation offices and serving as a 4-H media intern. “4-H symbolizes the beginning. It was because of 4-H that I showed cattle, joined student council and FFA, and developed my love for agriculture. It has lead me to this point today. It is the beginning to everything, my past, present, and future. “

Career plans: Erin is attending University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign studying Human Development and Family Studies as she pursues a career in dentistry.





About 4-H: Illinois 4-H prepares and empowers youth for success. University of Illinois Extension provides 4-H programs in every county in Illinois. Illinois 4-H impacts the lives of 200,000 youth each year through sustained learning clubs and groups and short-term programming.


About Illinois 4-H Foundation: The Illinois 4-H Foundation’s mission is to build a relationship to generate financial resources for Illinois 4-H. Funding from individual donors, our Illinois 4-H Project Partners, companies, and friends of Illinois 4-H help the Foundation support statewide programming initiatives along with scholarships, assistance to National events, grant opportunities, Teens as Teachers and assists us in filling funding gaps.


For Further Information Contact:

Source: Angie Barnard, Director, Illinois 4-H Foundation, 217-333-9295

Source: Dr. Lisa Diaz, Assistant Dean & Director 4-H Youth Development, 217-333-0910

News Writer: Katie Duitsman, Illinois 4-H Leadership & Recognition Specialist, 217-333-0910