Illinois 4-H Foundation Honors 80 Volunteers

SPRINGFIELD, Ill.— Three local 4-H leaders were among the 80 volunteers recognized by the Illinois 4-H Foundation as 4-H Hall of Fame recipients during a ceremony Tuesday, Aug. 13 at the Illinois State Fair in Springfield. Cathy Hewlett of Franklin County, Sharon Swisher of Jackson County and Donald Elliott of Williamson County were honored for their service as 4-H volunteers.

“These volunteers fully embody what 4-H strives to instill in youth,” said Angie Barnard, Illinois 4-H Foundation executive director. “They are caring, dedicated, generous leaders, and the Illinois 4-H Foundation is extremely proud to be able to provide this honor to thank them for their service to this wonderful organization.”

The Illinois 4-H Foundation established the statewide Hall of Fame in 2004 to honor and celebrate extraordinary 4-H alumni, volunteers, and former 4-H staff. Each inductee receives a commemorative Hall of Fame medallion.

“As a result of these volunteers’ years of service and leadership to Illinois 4-H,” Barnard said, “the program they love will continue to create wonderful opportunities for the young people whose lives it touches.”

Those honored include Susan Kissick, Adams County; Dennis Lingley, Bond County; Cindee Robinson, Boone County; Monico Nunez, Bureau County; Jim Ruter, Carroll County; Diana Herriott, Champaign County; Kathy Bates, Christian County; Aaron and Mary Ann Crome, Clark County; and Denise Sinclair, Clinton County;

Juli Stelle, Coles County; Bonnie Weger, Crawford County; Connie Koester, Cumberland County; Lisa Govig, DeKalb County; Sherry Fulton, Dewitt County; Walt Wright, Douglas County; Bradley Cash, Edgar County; Neil Fearn, Edwards County; Cindy Mathis and Janet Willenborg, Effingham County; and Kimberly Rahn, Ford County;

Cathy Hewlett, Franklin County; Lee Roy Knuppel, Fulton County; Chris Delach, Grundy County; Jeff Rister, Hamilton County; Janetta Flener, Hardin County; Shellee Fecht, Hancock County; Ralph and Marilyn Torrance, Henderson County; Christina Fleming-Kidwel, Iroquois County; Sharon Swisher, Jackson County;

Louis Ochs, Jasper County; Sandra Kabat, Jefferson County; Judy Benz, Jersey, Jim Feuerborn, Kane County; Pat Farman, Kankakee County; Christina Heidrich, Kendall County; Randy Newell, Knox County; Karen Pillion, La Salle County; the late Allan Esgar, Lee County; Cathryn Frisby, Livingston County; and Pamela Tibbs, Logan County;

Kevin and Kim Albert of Macoupin County; Carleen Paul, Madison County; Kane Austin, Marion County; DiAnn Kuehn, Marshall County; Bill Bree, Mason County; Norma Korte, Massac County; Robert and Karen Chatterton, McDonough County; Dawn Bihlmaier, McHenry County; Mark Schreiner, Menard County; and Krystal Jungmann, Mercer County;

Dorothy Schilling, Monroe County; Peggy Hampton, Montgomery County; Earl Hagemeyer, Ogle County; the late Jason Coulter, Peoria County; Agnes Thurston, Pulaski County; Amie Callahan, Rock Island County; Terry Bohn, St. Clair County; David Morrison, Sangamon County; James Sparks, Shelby County; and Ron and Karen Horsley, Stark County;

Karen Wilhelms. Stephenson County; Joe Grove, Tazewell County; Keith Ellis, Union County; Paige Brown, Vermilion County; Amy Quinn. Warren County; Angie Bowman, Washington County; Debbie Webb, Wayne County; Holly Healy, White County; Darren Mosher, Whiteside County; David and Lisa McMurtry, Will County; Donald Elliott, Williamson County; Ralph Koning, Winnebago County; and Paul and Theresa McHenry, Woodford County.

“The Foundation provides avenues to support the work of Illinois 4-H by accepting financial gifts specifically directed to the program you wish to support,” Barnard said. “Estate planning services are available to those wishing to continue their 4-H legacy.”

The Illinois 4-H Foundation raises private funds that are invested in Illinois 4-H programs that provide meaningful, positive development experiences for Illinois youth to develop leadership, citizenship, and life skills. To learn more, visit:

News Source: Angie Barnard, 217-333-0333,

News Writer: Judy Mae Bingman, 217-300-2113,