Skip to main content

2021 Superior Young Dairy Producer Award Winner in Carroll County 4-H

The 2021 Superior Young Dairy Producer Award (SYDPA) program was held August 21st, at the Illinois State Fairgrounds.   Twenty-two 4-H dairy project members from across Illinois took part in the event. The purpose of the contest is to create an educational activity that promotes youth development, career development, and personal growth through increased knowledge of the dairy industry.  This three-phase competition emphasizes the youth’s knowledge of the dairy industry. 

The first phase was a 25 question dairy management test relating to dairy nutrition, herd health, reproduction, milk marketing, and other dairy related information.  The second phase was a three station skill-a-thon on various aspects of the dairy industry.  Contestants had to identify dairy feeds, evaluate dairy records information, and identify dairy equipment. The third phase of the Superior Young Dairy Producer Contest was a dairy judging contest. Contestants judged six classes of dairy cattle.

The “top three” overall participants were awarded with a $1,000 scholarship. The $3,000 in scholarships is sponsored by Prairie Farms Dairy. The top three winners were:                                         

Nevin Erbsen, Lanark, IL (Carroll County)
Shana Lueking, Centralia, IL (Clinton County)
Megan Busker, Ridott, IL (Stephenson County)