2022 4-H Achievement celebration winners

For Immediate Release


OREGON, Ill.- Ogle County’s top 4-H members and clubs were honored for outstanding achievement at a special program held Sunday, November 13, in the Byron Middle School Theatre.

            Top county honors went to 4-H teens Clare Montavon, Davis Junction, and Alex Williams, Leaf River.  Montavon, Mighty Clovers 4-H Club, and Williams, Leaf River Soaring Eagles 4-H Club, were the recipients of the Co-op Watch Awards sponsored by Ogle County Farm Bureau and its affiliates.  Watches are awarded yearly to the two 4-H’ers with the most impressive records of long-term leadership and service at the club level and beyond.

            Nicholas Cassens, Byron, was the recipient of a $50 cash award sponsored by the Ogle County 4-H Foundation.  The Foundation Award is presented annually to a single 4-H’er who has shown leadership skills, a willingness to help with 4-H activities, and has served as a positive example to younger members.

            Four youth were challenged to greater leadership and service as recipients of the “I Dare You” Leadership Award.  New owners of William Danforth’s inspiring book, “I Dare You,” these youth were selected based on their previous leadership, citizenship, and project work.  Winners included: Trent Heller, Grand Detour Greens; Lydia Sherburne, Leaf River Soaring Eagles; Lacie Williams, Leaf River Soaring Eagles; Tristin Williams, Ogle Jolly.

Other special award winners included:

Outstanding Club President                              

Ali Danekas, Pine Creek Valley                         

Sarah-Beth Haenitsch, Grand Detour Greens     

Outstanding Club Vice-President 

Courtney Bushman, Pine Creek Valley

David Wehler, Leaf River Soaring Eagles                                                                               

Outstanding Club Secretaries                    

Alexandria Cassens, By-Y-Badgers                   

Natalie Johnson, Leaf River Soaring Eagles       

Outstanding Club Treasurers

Kendall Boatman, By-Y-Badgers

Kaeden Motszko, Leaf River Soaring Eagles                                 

Outstanding Club Reporter                        

Braden Rogers, Ogle Jolly                                

Outstanding Club Historians                                                                      

Lauren Carlson, By-Y-Badgers

Cheyenne Somers, Hub Hickory Nuts

Ogle County Club Recreation Chairperson

Melinda Goldstick, Byron Emerald Eagles

Lacie Williams, Leaf River Soaring Eagles

Outstanding Club Junior Leaders

Tristin Williams, Ogle Jolly

Electricity Achievement Award

Preston Taylor, Hub Hickory Nuts

Illinois Holstein-Friesian Association Award

Shelby Harbaugh, Carefree

Several awards were distributed to community clubs throughout the county to recognize outstanding community service, educational programming, and promotional efforts.  Additionally, one club’s leadership team was recognized for their exceptional efforts to work together to effectively meet the needs of and coordinate the work of their club.  Congratulations to all the following club winners:

Window Display Promotion Award

1st Place – By-Y-Badgers 4-H Club

2nd Place – Leaf River Soaring Eagles 4-H Club

3rd Place – Summerhill Huskies 4-H Club


Ogle County 4-H Club-of-the-Year

1st Place – Leaf River Soaring Eagles 4-H Club

2nd Place – Summerhill Huskies 4-H Club

3rd Place – Carefree 4-H Club


Top Leader Team Award

Leaf River Soaring Eagles 4-H Club: Nickie Lingbeck, Kenlie Motszko, Annette Williams


4-H is an informal youth education program of University of Illinois Extension.  For more information or to get involved, call 815-732-2191 or visit us online at

https://extension.illinois.edu/bdo.   Now is the best time of year to join! 


If you need reasonable accommodations to participate in programming, contact the Ogle County Extension office, 815-732-2191. Early requests are strongly encouraged to allow sufficient time for meeting your needs.


University of Illinois Extension provides equal opportunities in programs and employment.

University of Illinois, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Local Extension Councils Cooperating


ABOUT EXTENSION: Illinois Extension leads public outreach for University of Illinois by translating research into action plans that allow Illinois families, businesses, and community leaders to solve problems, make informed decisions, and adapt to changes and opportunities.

The Leaf River Soaring Eagles 4-H Club won Club of the Year for the 2021-2022 4-H Year! Sponsored by 4-H Federation, Club-of-the-Year goes to the club that received the most participation points throughout the year, and met the following standards: established goals for the 4-H year; submitted a club calendar containing program information; and qualified as an Ogle County 4-H Honor Club.


Clare Montavon, Davis Junction and Alex Williams, Leaf River were awarded the Co-op Watch Award at this year’s 4-H Achievement Day. This award is intended to honor 4-H’ers for outstanding leadership involvement at the club level, as well as at the county level and beyond. (Pictured: Trent Heller, 4-H Ambassador, Grand Detour; Clare Montavon, Davis Junction, and Stan Eden, Oregon. Not Pictured; Alex Williams)