Skip to main content

Tazewell County Health Department recognizes Kaitlyn Streitmatter for public health education

group of people holding plaques

The Tazewell County Health Department recently honored Kaitlyn Streitmatter, University of Illinois Extension Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program— Education (SNAP-Ed) educator serving Fulton, Mason, Peoria, and Tazewell Counties, at the 2019 awards banquet. Kaitlyn was one of five members of the Tazewell County community honored with the Margaret Burt Public Health Partnership Award.

Shanita Wallace from Tazewell County Health Department (TCHD) nominated Kaitlyn highlighting her work as SNAP-Ed educator and chair of the Partnership for Healthy Community Healthy Eating Active Living priority action team. “Kaitlyn is viewed as a leader within our community and without her knowledge, expertise, and relationship, our programs may not be as successful as they are currently.”

In addition to providing resources and expertise to health department programs, Kaitlyn also works hard to “engage many entities to collaborate on public health issues and creates networking opportunities for relationships to grow and become successful,” Shanita continued.

According to TCHD communications manager Sara Sparkman, the Margaret Burt Public Health Partnership award was named to honor Margaret Burt, who was on the original Board of Health in 1970 and served many years. Margaret was a champion of public health, not only in Tazewell County but throughout the state of Illinois. Award winners are nominated by health department staff for their positive impact made on the health and safety of Tazewell County residents.

Others recognized with this honor included Pekin Farmers Auto Insurance, North Pekin Fire Department and Chief Plemons, Byron Sondgeroth, Superintendent of North Pekin-Marquette Heights School District, and Vickie White, University of Illinois Extension Master Gardener.


Snapshot Hard Copy



Anita Wilkinson has been serving University of Illinois Extension since 1998, currently in the role of Communications Program Coordinator for the Fulton-Mason-Peoria-Tazewell Unit. She began her career in Marshall-Putnam counties leading the 4-H program and transferred to Tazewell County 4-H in 2011. Her 4-H experiences began as a youth member and later 4-H volunteer in Stark County where she was born and raised.


Extension Snapshots are monthly impact reports that share the stories of our programs in Fulton, Mason, Peoria, and Tazewell counties. To have them delivered to you directly sign up using our E-blast registration.