Skip to main content

Foundation awards $49,000 in 4-H scholarships

photo of scholarship winners

The Illinois 4-H Foundation provided $29,000 in college scholarships and awarded another $20,000 in national conference travel scholarships to 4-H members honored at a ceremony held Oct. 5 in Champaign. The annual celebration recognized over 100 of the top participants in the state’s most successful youth development program.

“Our donors are generous and believe that higher education changes lives,” said Angie Barnard, Foundation executive director. Donors include Farm Credit Illinois, Nann Armstrong, Patricia Clickener, Lila Jeanne Eichelberger, the Nellie R. McCannon Trust, Keith and Lissa Parr, Dorsey Murray, George Obernagel, Legacy endowment contributors, LA-CO, Illinois Farm Bureau, Peter Johnson, Susan Moore, Katherine Razim, Ryan and Elaine Ruwe, Marvin and Elizabeth Schnitzler, Gerald and Linda Thiele, Lindsay Young, and the Illinois 4-H Foundation. 

Illinois 4-H Foundation presents the Legacy of Leadership Scholarship to 4-H members who demonstrate and maintain a high standard of 4-H excellence and mastery during their membership tenure. Winners include Hannah Barger, Pope County; Emma Behrens, McHenry County; Xen Briggs, DuPage County; Megan Brown, Vermilion County; Alexander Ford, DuPage County; Gwen Fowler, Mercer County; Devin Koester, Jo Daviess County; Emma Konicek, Kendall County; Katherine Mueller, Peoria County; Josh Rossi, Grundy County; Molly Schempp, Logan County; Jaycie Schertz, Woodford County; Patrick Stephen, Kane County; Nalia Warmack, Grundy County; and Cooper Wilt, Knox County.

The foundation also awards scholarships to teens who concentrate efforts in animal science projects. These winners include Payton Erbsen, Carroll County; Maddie Hanson, Iroquois County; Emma Konicek, Kendall County; and Seth Mitchell, Richland County. 

“Our awardees embody the true spirit of 4-H, having made a difference not only in their communities, but also Illinois and the nation,” said Lisa Diaz, University of Illinois Extension assistant dean and director of Illinois 4-H. “We are proud of the dedication, service, and fortitude of the young men and women who have developed through our 4-H programs.”

photo of winners

State 4-H Award Winners

Twenty-four young adults were also recognized as winners in one of five divisions of the State 4-H Award. Each winner may chose either a $1,000 scholarship or a trip to National 4-H Congress in Atlanta.

The communication division winner is Seth Mitchell of Richland County. Honored in the area of community service are Jessica Anderson of Macon County, Bryn Callahan of Rock Island County, Abigail Stichter of Whiteside County, and Brooke Walbring of Adams County.

In the leadership division, winners are Hannah Barger of Pope County, Erin Kistner of Montgomery County, Reagan Parks of McLean County, Dorris Russo of Winnebago County, and Brady Veal of McLean County.

The seven winners in the personal growth division include Katelyn Ackland of Ogle County, Alexander Ford of DuPage County, Marissa Hughes of McLean County, Sowmya Monroe of Winnebago County, Sarah Starasta of Logan County, Abby Stevens of Boone County, and Dalton Wachter of Jo Daviess County.

Project mastery winners include Dalton Bartz of Morgan County, Amie Case of Lee County; Payton Erbsen of Carroll County, Blake Hadden of Morgan County, Miranda Nelson of Logan County, Ruthie Ruhl of Logan County, and Kyle Spangler of Fulton County.