Gardening | Bi-State Conference Series

Expand your gardening knowledge.

Gather with fellow gardening enthusiasts to learn about current gardening trends and take advantage of research-based horticulture expertise from University of Illinois and Purdue University Extensions that can help you plan, plant, and harvest a successful garden. Cost to attend is $30 (cash or check only); admission fees will be collected at the door.

If you have questions or need a reasonable accommodation to participate please contact Tricia Herr at 765-364-6363 or triciaherr@purdue.edu. Early requests are strongly encouraged in order to allow sufficient time to meet access needs.

Bi-State Gardening Conference Agenda

Attracting Pollinators to Your Garden: 9 AM (CST) | 10 AM (EST)

Pollinator-friendly landscaping is becoming increasingly popular. This presentation will discuss the importance of pollinators, the different types of pollinators we can find, and how you can make your landscape more attractive to them. Presenter: Ken Johnson, Horticulture Educator, University of Illinois Extension

The Social Side of Seeds: Growing Community Gardens: 10 AM (CST) | 11 AM (EST)

As a gardener, you feel the direct benefits of your labor of love, improving both physical and mental health through regular exercise, exposure to sunlight, and access to fresh produce. Learn how you can share these benefits with others and grow a stronger community. Presenter: Karen Mitchell, Consumer Horticulture Specialist, Purdue Extension


Time Zone Notice: 9 AM to Noon (CST) | 10 AM to 1 PM (EST)

Event times displayed at top of page default to Central Standard Time for Illinois residents. The meeting location in Covington, IL follows Eastern Standard Time. Please be aware of event times as they pertain to your time zone.

  • Central Standard Time: 9 AM to Noon (CST)

  • Eastern Standard Time: 10 AM to 1 PM (EST)