Have a question?  We have answers.  

Stumped on what to do regarding a problem or course of action with your home garden, property, or commercial agriculture operations?  Find an educator with expertise you can use on this ANR Expert map or using the list below. Agriculture and natural resource educators and specialists respond to over 13,000 inquiries a year.  Our educators and specialists can provide recommendations and information or refer you to appropriate resources targeted to your needs.

Commercial Agriculture team

Phillip Alberti, Commercial Agriculture State Educator based in Freeport
Hemp production; soil fertility; row crop production
palberti@illinois.edu

Talon Becker, Commercial Agriculture State Educator based in Benton
Row crop agronomy; cover crops; plant physiology, breeding, and genetics
tbecker2@illinois.edu

N. Dennis Bowman, Interim Assistant Dean and program leader, Agriculture and Natural Resources, and Commercial Agriculture State educator based in Urbana
Precision agriculture; row crops; integrated pest management (IPM); UAV/drones
ndbowman@illinois.edu

Rachel Curry, Watershed Outreach Associate based in Galva
Nutrient loss reduction; soil health; cover crops; watershed planning
rccurry@illinois.edu

Chelsea Harbach, Commercial Agriculture State educator based at the Northwestern Illinois Agricultural Research and Demonstration Center in Monmouth
Plant pathology; plant-parasitic nematodes; integrated pest management 
harbach2@illinois.edu

Russel Higgins, Commercial Agriculture State Educator based in Morris
Agriculture crop production; integrated pest management (IPM); weed management; insect pests; crop diseases
rahiggin@illinois.edu

Nathan Johanning, Commercial Agriculture Educator based in Waterloo
Commercial fruit & vegetable production; cover crops & no-till production; weed management; soil management & fertility; commercial pumpkin production; grain crop production
njohann@illinois.edu

Travis Meteer, Commercial Agriculture State Educator based at the Orr Agricultural Research and Demonstration Center in Baylis
Beef cattle nutrition and feedstuffs; beef cattle herd management; beef cattle genetics and breeding; cover crops for livestock feed
wmeteer2@illinois.edu

Nick Seiter, Research Assistant Professor
Field crop entomology and pest management; Insect identification; Integrated pest management (IPM)
nseiter@illinois.edu

Teresa Steckler, Commercial Agriculture State Educator based at Dixon Springs Agricultural Center in Simpson
Ruminant livestock management; bovine infertility; small ruminant production
tsteckle@illinois.edu

Elizabeth Wahle, Commercial Agriculture State Educator based in Collinsville
Commercial vegetable production; commercial fruit production 
wahle@illinois.edu

Jennifer Woodyard, Watershed Outreach Associate based in Effingham
Nutrient loss reduction; soil health; cover crops; watershed planning
woodyar2@illinois.edu


Local Foods and Small Farms Team

Bronwyn Aly, Local Foods and Small Farms educator based in Carmi
Vegetable production; small fruit production; high tunnel production; integrated pest management 
baly@illinois.edu

Katie Bell, Local Foods and Small Farm educator based in Murphysboro
klbell@illinois.edu

Sarah Farley, Local Foods and Small Farms educator based in Grayslake
Livestock (sheep, goat, swine, cattle) production and management, farm financial management, youth development, cooperative entrepreneurship, program evaluation, facilitation.
sfarley@illinois.edu

Laurie George, Local Foods and Small Farms educator based in Mt. Vernon
Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA); greenhouse production; hydroponics; farmers markets; Integrated Pest Management (IPM)
ljgeorge@illinois.edu

Zachary Grant, Local Foods and Small Farms educator based in Matteson
Urban farming and gardening; urban and rural soil management; intensive vegetable production systems; organic vegetable production systems; high tunnel production; general protected culture; food safety (produce); Integrated Pest Management (IPM); irrigation
zgrant2@illinois.edu

Douglas B. Gucker, Local Foods and Small Farms educator based in Decatur
Cover crops; native prairie plantings; pasture establishment; pasture management; beekeeping; soil health
dgucker@illinois.edu

Erin Harper, Local Foods and Small Farms educator based in Champaign
Vegetable gardening; integrated pest management (IPM); nontraditional farmer training; mitigating wildlife conflict; controlled environment; FarmBot
harper7@illinois.edu

Grace Margherio, Local Foods and Small Farms educator based at the Jackie Joyner Kersee Foundation in East St. Louis
School and community garden management; youth programming; vegetable gardening
gracem@illinois.edu

Grant McCarty, Local Foods and Small Farms educator based in Freeport
General fruit and vegetable production; soils management; fruit tree pruning; organic production; integrated pest management (IPM)
gmccarty@illinois.edu

Katie Parker, Local Foods and Small Farm educator based in Quincy
Row crop production, vegetable production, soil fertility, and ornamental horticulture
keparkr2@illinois.edu

Kathryn Pereira, Local Foods and Small Farms educator based in Chicago
Economics; knowledge translation; marketing; organic agriculture; program evaluation; systems thinking
kpereira@illinois.edu

James Theuri, Local Foods and Small Farms educator based in Kankakee
Fruit & vegetable gardening; produce safety (specialty crops); small animals (sheep, goats and poultry); integrated pest management (IPM); beekeeping
jtheu50@illinois.edu


Horticulture Team

Kelly Allsup, Horticulture educator based in Bloomington
Integrated Pest Management (IPM); insect identification;beneficial insects; urban tree care; vegetable gardening; pollinator
kallsup@illinois.edu

Gemini Bhalsod, Horticulture educator based in Arlington Heights
Ornamental Horticulture; Vegetable Gardening; Soil Issues; Invasive Plant Species; Illinois Native Plants; integrated pest management (IPM)
gbhalsod@illinois.edu

Bruce Black, Horticulture educator based in Sterling
Vegetable gardening; small fruit; tree fruits; propagation/micropropagation; community gardens; youth and school horticulture/gardens
brucejb@illinois.edu

Christopher Enroth, Horticulture educator based in Macomb
Green infrastructure; ornamental horticulture; lawns; trees; season extension; vegetable gardening
cenroth@illinois.edu

Mary Fischer, Horticulture educator based in Effingham
Landscape design; ornamental horticulture;backyard and community food production; youth education; drone use.
marymf@illinois.edu

Jennifer Fishburn, Horticulture educator based in Springfield
Vegetable gardening; herb gardening; landscape design; native plants; woody ornamentals
fishburn@illinois.edu

Nicole Flowers-Kimmerle, horticulture educator based in Lewiston
nflower2@illinois.edu

Brittnay Haag, Horticulture educator based in Bloomington
Youth gardening; herbaceous ornamentals; ornamental horticulture
bhaag@illinois.edu

Richard Hentschel, Horticulture educator based in St. Charles
Ornamental Horticulture; turfgrass; insect identification outdoor/indoor; vegetable gardening 
hentsche@illinois.edu

Andrew Holsinger, Horticulture educator based in Hillsboro
Tree fruit culture; plant identification; pruning techniques; ornamental horticulture; vegetable gardening; woody ornamentals
aholsing@illinois.edu

Ken Johnson, Horticulture educator based in Jacksonville
Entomology/insects; integrated pest management (IPM); Plant disease; fruit and vegetable gardening/production; pollinators; beneficial insects (predators, parasitoids, etc.)
kjohnso@illinois.edu

Nancy Kreith, Horticulture educator based in Matteson
Landscape design; native plants; woody and herbaceous plants; vegetable gardening; soils and composting; insects
kreith@illinois.edu

Austin Little, Horticulture educator based in Murphysboro
Green infrastructure; sustainable landscape practices; landscape design; urban agriculture; home gardening/community gardens; native plant landscaping
little84@illinois.edu

Ryan Pankau, Horticulture educator based in Champaign
Arboriculture and forestry; ornamental horticulture; vegetable gardening; wildlife habitat restoration; native plants; integrated pest management
rcpankau@illinois.edu

Martha A. Smith, Horticulture educator based in Milan
Ornamental horticulture; herbaceous ornamentals (perennials, annuals, biennials); ornamental grasses; woody ornamentals (trees, shrubs, vines)
smithma@illinois.edu

Sarah Vogel, Horticulture educator based in Decatur
Annuals and perennials; greenhouse production; landscaping; urban forest management
sarahv@illinois.edu

Ron Wolford, Horticulture educator based in Chicago
rwolford@illinois.edu


Energy and Environmental Stewardship Team

Ashley Belle, Energy and Environmental Stewardship educator based in Taylorville
Smart grid/smart meter technology; residential energy efficiency; waste management/recycling; anaerobic digestion
abelle@illinois.edu

Peggy Doty, Energy and Environmental Stewardship educator based in Sycamore
Wildlife management; wildlife/human interactions; environmental education (youth & adult); large pond ecology; prairie restoration 
psdoty@illinois.edu

Chris Evans, Forestry Extension and Research Specialist based at Dixon Springs Agricultural Center in Simpson
Forestry; forest health/pests; invasive species; herbicides; plant identification; and wildlife
cwevans@illinois.edu

Duane Friend, Energy and Environmental Stewardship educator based in Jacksonville
Climate and weather; soil health; composting; farm pond management; septic system management
friend@illinois.edu

Abigail Garofalo, Energy and Environmental Stewardship educator based in Westchester
Environmental education; conservation landscape practices
aeg9@illinois.edu

Erin Garrett, Energy and Environmental Stewardship educator based in Anna
Native plants; grass identification (non-lawn grasses); pollinators; invasive species; smart grid/smart meter technology; energy efficiency
emedvecz@illinois.edu

Jay Hayek, Extension Forestry Specialist based in Urbana
Forestry; forest management; timber harvesting / forest products; chainsaw safety; reforestation techniques; prescribed fire; and tree identification
jhayek@illinois.edu

Stanley (Jay) Solomon, Energy and Environmental Stewardship educator based in Freeport
Renewable energy; livestock management including mortality management, nutrient management, grazing, and facilities; home energy efficiency, water quality. 
jssolomo@illinois.edu